July 6, 2016

The FET2HE Network

The FET2HE Network was established in 2015 across the Leinster Pillar 2 Regional Cluster. This formal Network of Further Education and Higher Education providers was established for the purposes of collaboration on enhancing access, transfer and progression opportunities across the region.

This Network comprises of representatives from four HEI’s and eight ETB’s in our Regional Cluster.  The Network also has representatives from QQI and SOLAS and is supported by the DES and the HEA through the Strategic Innovation Development Fund.


Higher Education Partners:

  • Dublin City University (DCU)
  • Maynooth University (MU)
  • Athlone Institute of Technology (AIT)
  • Dundalk Institute of Technology (DKIT)

Education and Training Board Partners:

  • Cavan Monaghan Education and Training Board (CMETB)
  • City of Dublin Education and Training Board (CDETB)
  • Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Education and Training Board (DDETB)
  • Galway and Roscommon Education and Training Board (GRETB)
  • Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board (KWETB)
  • Laois Offaly Education and Training Board (LOETB)
  • Longford Westmeath Education and Training Board (LWMETB)
  • Louth and Meath Education and Training Board (LMETB)

Logo of DES, HEA, SOLAS and QQI

External Partners:

  • QQI

Network Objectives:

The overall aim of the FET2HE Network is to create and develop a formal network of Further Education and Higher Education providers within the Leinster Pillar II cluster, specifically established for the purpose of collaboration on enhancing access, transfer and progression opportunities across the region.

Values of the FET2HE Network

  • A spirit of partnership and collaboration underpins the work of the Network;
  • The progression and welfare of students is central and governs all that is done;
  • The Network works towards consensus and seeks compromise wherever necessary;
  • The Network keeps the importance of equity of access for all learners at its core with particular consideration for socioeconomic disadvantage.

Structure of the FET2HE Network

  • In order to implement this agreement a Network Steering Committee has been established by the partners which includes representation from each organization and other relevant stakeholders for a two year term. Subgroups have been formed to deliver on each objective;
  • Representatives on the Network Steering Committee have a diverse and broad range of experience and include both student and practitioner voices;
  • The Committee has identified key priority objectives and determined its programme of work based on the objectives outlined above.
  • The Committee meets regularly to progress the agreed objectives;
  • The Committee will review and report annually and make any necessary recommendations.

FET2HE Network Membership 2016 – Click to view

FET2HE Network Membership 2016